Could the Ramsey County Sheriff doing something most likely illegal?   Yes he did...

*In early December, Ramsey County Sheriff Bob Fletcher sent a fund-raising letter to Ramsey County carry permit holders... The letter invited carry permit holders in Ramsey County to a shoot in a private outing at the Ramsey County Sheriff’s Office indoor firearms range."

MN State Law: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=624.714

"Subd. 14. Records. (a) A sheriff must not maintain records or data collected, made, or held under this section concerning any applicant or permit holder that are not necessary under this section to support a permit that is outstanding or eligible for renewal under subdivision 7"

By keeping a copy of that data of my name and address for personal fund raising he broke the law.

Steve Cook
1138 Hunters Ct.
Arden Hills, MN 55112-3710
651-483-8300
Email is quicker during weekdays: steve@judgmentcenter.com

(the following emails are in chronological order)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Anderson [mailto:Dan.Anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us]
Sent: Monday, March 15, 2010 10:47 AM
To: judgmentcenter
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

The original complainant is waiting on a written opinion from the Office of
Administration regarding an official opinion on the violation of MN Data
Practices. They are the office who makes the official determination
regarding violations. The original complainant asked us to hold off a bit
until he has this opinion in writing. He was supposed to get it soon, by
the end of March I believe.

We agreed to hold off a bit because this document will make our
investigation easier.

Dan

Sergeant Dan Anderson
Special Investigations Unit
Saint Paul Police Department
367 Grove St
St. Paul, MN 55101
Office 651-266-5686
Fax 651-266-5985
dan.anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us

>>> "judgmentcenter" <steve@judgmentcenter.com> 3/15/2010 9:56 AM >>>
Sgt. Anderson,

Could you give me an update on these issues? It's been a couple months
since it was originally opened.

Thank you.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Anderson [mailto:Dan.Anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us]
Sent: Friday, February 26, 2010 2:19 PM
To: steve@judgmentcenter.com
Subject: Gun Permit Letters

I have this case and the investigation is on-going. While I can't give you a lot of information on an open case I might be able to give you some answers if you have specific questions.

Sergeant Dan Anderson
Special Investigations Unit
Saint Paul Police Department
367 Grove St
St. Paul, MN 55101
Office 651-266-5686
Fax 651-266-5985
dan.anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: judgmentcenter [mailto:steve@judgmentcenter.com]
Sent: Friday, February 26, 2010 3:14 PM
To: 'Dan Anderson'
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

Sgt. Anderson,

Thank you for contacting me. It is appreciated. I don't think you have the full complaint of mine. There are three parts.

I think you only have the violation of the data privacy https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=624.714 "Subd. 14. Records. (a) A sheriff must not maintain records or data collected, made, or held under this section concerning any applicant or permit holder that are not necessary under this section to support a permit that is outstanding or eligible for renewal under subdivision 7"

Since I believe you only have one of the three issues in my complaint, I want to formally make a complaint against Bob Fletcher since I was a victim on the things that Bob Fletcher did for all three issues.

I want to make a formal complaint and I can come in and sign it at a time you want me to.

Sincerely,
Steve Cook
651-483-8300

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Anderson [mailto:Dan.Anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us]
Sent: Friday, February 26, 2010 4:05 PM
To: steve@judgmentcenter.com
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

I have previously read your complaints posted on the web.

#1 Still working on this looking at criminal and civil violations (I will keep your contact information and when everything is finished I will add you as an additional
complainant if needed.)

#2 Not interested in debating what the Constitution says and the intention of the wording regarding this particular issue, but either way this would not be a local criminal matter and we would not investigate this.

#3 This is part of the investigation for #1

#4 I have no control over the POST Board and can not assist you in this one. I don't know who you would contact to complain about the POST Board itself, but you could try the MN Department of Public Safety if you choose to pursue this.

Sergeant Dan Anderson
Special Investigations Unit
Saint Paul Police Department
367 Grove St
St. Paul, MN 55101
Office 651-266-5686
Fax 651-266-5985
dan.anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: judgmentcenter [mailto:steve@judgmentcenter.com]
Sent: Monday, March 15, 2010 9:56 AM
To: 'Dan Anderson'
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

Sgt. Anderson,

Could you give me an update on these issues? It's been a couple months since it was originally opened.

Thank you.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Anderson [mailto:Dan.Anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us]
Sent: Monday, March 15, 2010 10:47 AM
To: steve@judgmentcenter.com
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

The original complainant is waiting on a written opinion from the Office of Administration regarding an official opinion on the violation of MN Data Practices. They are the office who makes the official determination regarding violations. The original complainant asked us to hold off a bit until he has this opinion in writing. He was supposed to get it soon, by the end of March I believe.

We agreed to hold off a bit because this document will make our investigation easier.

Dan

Sergeant Dan Anderson
Special Investigations Unit
Saint Paul Police Department
367 Grove St
St. Paul, MN 55101
Office 651-266-5686
Fax 651-266-5985
dan.anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Anderson [mailto:Dan.Anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us]
Sent: Monday, March 15, 2010 11:27 AM
To: steve@judgmentcenter.com
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

Just found out the opinion letter is out. We are going to be packaging up what we have and Mpls. PD is going to take over the investigation to avoid the conflict of interest situation. When I hand it off to them I will make sure they have your information as an additional complainant.

Dan

Sergeant Dan Anderson
Special Investigations Unit
Saint Paul Police Department
367 Grove St
St. Paul, MN 55101
Office 651-266-5686
Fax 651-266-5985
dan.anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Anderson [mailto:Dan.Anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us]
Sent: Tuesday, March 23, 2010 8:56 AM
To: judgmentcenter
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

Steve,

I am putting the final information into a report and will be turning the case over to Mpls PD today. They will finish the investigation and submit it for charging. We are doing this to avoid conflict issues and the appearance that SPPD is covering for or out to get Sheriff Fletcher, since we work so closely with his agency. This is common practice in situations like this.

I need your address so I can include you as a victim. I have your name and phone number from the e-mail but need your full mailing address.

Thanks,
Dan

 
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Anderson [mailto:Dan.Anderson@ci.stpaul.mn.us]
Sent: Tuesday, March 23, 2010 2:02 PM
To: judgmentcenter
Subject: RE: Gun Permit Letters

HI Steve,

Just a quick request.

You certainly have a right to know about the progress of this case and the fact that we turned it over to Mpls PD for completion, but it would be helpful to Mpls PD if the fact that they have it didn't pop up in the media before they have a chance to get going on it. They will have to make some direct contacts at the sheriff's department and their job will be easier if they don't have to fend off media inquiries while they are trying to complete the investigation. It can also help in getting potential witnesses to talk, if they don't become targets of the media as well.

Thanks,
Dan
 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx